The books I read in 2012

children dynmouthTo acquire the habit of reading is to construct for yourself a refuge from almost all the miseries of life. – Somerset Maugham

Five of the books I read this year were sent to me from the depths of Lancashire by my former Latin master John McC. I thank him again for these great reads: Death in Summer by William Trevor; The Doctor’s Wife by Brian Moore; The Children of Dynmouth by William Trevor; Love and Summer by William Trevor; and Other People’s Lives by William Trevor.

(An *** after the entry means I re-read the book.)

JANUARY

1. Kingfisher by Gerald Seymour***

2. Field of Blood by Gerald Seymour***

FEBRUARY

3. Purge by Sofi Oksanen

4. The Spider’s Web by Nigel McCrery

MARCH

5. Kennedy’s Brain by Henning Mankell

6. Death in Summer by William Trevor

7. The Doctor’s Wife by Brian Moore

8. Running Wild by J.G. Ballard

9. Strata by Terry Pratchet

APRIL

10. The Shooting Party by Isobel Colegate

11. Green River Rising by Tim Willocks***

12. Get Shorty by Elmore Leonard***

13. Mr Majestyk by Elmore Leonard***

14. Unknown Man No 89 by Elmore Leonard***

MAY

15. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier Spy by John le Carré***

16. The Children of Dynmouth by William Trevor

17. The Children of Men by P.D. James***

18. Love and Summer by William Trevor

JUNE

19. Greybeard by Brian Aldiss***

20. The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

21. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James***

22. Touch by Elmore Leonard***

23. Earthly Powers by Anthony Burgess***

24. Headlong by Michael Frayn***

JULY

25. Other People’s Lives by William Trevor

26. The Chrysalids by John Wyndham***

AUGUST

27. Karate It’s Not All Bowing, Grunting and Farting! By Paul & Barbara Chadwick***

28. Amazonia by James Rollins

SEPTEMBER

29. The Daffodil Affair by Michael Innes

30. The Rainmaker by John Grisham

OCTOBER

31. Time for a Tiger by Anthony Burgess***

32. The Enemy in the Blanket by Anthony Burgess***

33. Beds in the East by Anthony Burgess***

NOVEMBER

34. Home Run by Gerald Seymour

35. La théorie du panda by Pascal Garnier (French)

DECEMBER

36. Doctored Evidence by Donna Leon

37. Knock by Jules Romains (French)

7 responses to “The books I read in 2012

  1. Some good stuff there! William Trevor is a lovely writer – The Children of Dynmouth is a very disturbing book but terrific. I must find my copy and re-read it. Get Shorty is my favourite Elmore Leonard.
    Have you read Towards the End of the Morning by Michael Frayn? If not, it’s well worth seeking out – one of the best and funniest newspaper novels ever written. Any resemblance to the Telegraph may or may not be purely coincidental…

  2. Bill, Yes, I have read Towards the End of the Morning by Michael Frayn – a classic. But a long while ago; I must get hold of a copy and re-read it. Get Shorty is great and I also enjoyed the film. Bonne Année!

  3. And to you! Health and happiness.

  4. oh so much wonderful william trevor!

  5. Great…I’m just about to order books and this list wil be superb!

  6. A belated but warm bonne annee form me, too. I am mightily impressed and shamed by your list which includes many books I may well have considered reading but never got around to acquiring, even free from the library.

  7. I just posted my 2012 reading list too, I see we only have one book in common this year. I’ll update my “to read” list from yours!

Leave a Reply

